June 23, 2022

Obasanjo praises sponsors as Owolabi Michael wins OBJ Golf Tourney

Obasanjo praises sponsors as Owolabi Michael wins OBJ Golf Tourney

Olajide Owolabi Michael at the weekend carded 69-net to retain the OBJ Golf Tournament title. In the competition held at the Abeokuta Golf Club, Michael beat Tolu Olugbemi, who shot 70-net score, to the second competition, while Harrison Karuiku with a score of 71 came in the third position on countback.

Sade Opawunmi won in the ladies category, while Club Captain, Kola Adeneye, won the Veteran category.

Speaking at the closing tournament, former President, Gen Olusegun Obasanjo (rtd), commended FirstBank of Nigeria Limited for keeping faith with the annual event.

Obasanjo prayed the tournament would remain a regular and consistent event on the nation’s golf calendar.

“I want to show my appreciation to FirstBank of Nigeria Limited and Abeokuta Golf Club for keeping faith and maintaining this event, and I hope it remains a regular tournament on the nation’s golf calendar,” Obasanjo said, adding, “since FirstBank has maintained the Lagos Open Golf Championship for 60 years, the Kaduna Polo (Georgian Cup), which enters 102nd edition this year, the Dala Harcourt (Tennis) which has also ran for 30-years, OBJ Golf tournament should also be maintained.

“First Bank also sponsors the annual Sardauna Northern Durbar Horse Racing competition at Kano Turf Club.”

He promised drop squash for golf if FirstBank maintained the sponsorship.

“I believe that at a stage in my life, I will take it easy and play the gentlemen sport like golf. Golf is more relaxing, gentler, more entertaining and friendlier and I believe there is no sport like it,” Obasanjo added.

Speaking earlier, Tunde Owolabi, who represented the Group Managing Director of FirstBank, Adesola Adedutan, at the event, pledged FirstBank’s commitment to the annual tournament.

The OBJ Golf Tournament debuted in 2015 and has been played consistently ever since.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © All rights reserved. | Designed by Horndaskoure Global Concept.